KANSAS CITY, MO (Aug. 4, 2023) – United Soccer Coaches has announced the Goalkeepers on its NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Players to Watch lists for the 2023 intercollegiate season.

The lists are compiled and released by the Division I All-America Committees to promote college soccer leading up to the official start date for the regular season later this month. The lists include United Soccer Coaches All-Americans and first or second-team All-Region players from 2022, who are scheduled to return for the 2023 season.

“Entering the 2023 season, these previous honorees represent some of the best at their positions,” said Ralph Polson, Senior College All-America Administrator. “As pre-season training opens, we are pleased to recognize these outstanding student-athletes from our member schools. I would like to thank Jennifer Rockwood, DI Women’s All-America Chair, Chris Rich, DI Men’s All-America Chair, and their respective committees for their efforts in compiling these lists.”

Here is the schedule for all of the position announcements this fall:

August 4 – Goalkeepers

August 8 – Defenders

August 11 – Midfielders

August 15 – Forwards


2023 NCAA Division I Women’s Players to Watch – Goalkeepers

Name Class School Hometown
Allie Augur GR-5 Georgetown University Northford, Conn.
Alexandra Blom Sr. James Madison University Degefors, Sweden
Samantha Castaneda GR-5 Purdue University Fort Wayne Fort Wayne, Ind.
Leah Freeman Sr. Duke University Berkeley, Calif.
Ainsley Leja Jr. Liberty University Rockford, Mich.
Bre Norris SO. University of Portland Boise, Idaho
Nicole Panis GR-5 Lamar University Opmeer, The Netherlands
Emily Puricelli Sr. Saint Louis University St. Louis, Mo.
Cristina Roque Sr. Florida State University Winter Garden, Fla.

2023 NCAA Division I Men’s Players to Watch – Goalkeepers

Name Class School Hometown
Sam Fowler GR-5 University of Washington Issaquah, Wash.
Ryan Friedburg So. Cornell University Westfield, N.J.
Alex Lopez Jr. University of Tulsa Madrid, Spain
Casper Mols So. University of Kentucky Aabenraa, Denmark
Isaac Nehme So. University of Denver Colorado Springs, Colo.
Leroy Zeller GR-5 University of California Santa Barbara Zulpich, Germany

*GR5 Indicates student-athletes exercising their extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19

These positional announcements also lead up to the 2023 watch lists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy on the official start date for regular season games on August 17 (women) and August 24 (men). The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to the Division I National Players of the Year as voted by Division I College Coaches at the end of the regular season. The 2023 recipients will be announced on January 5, 2024, in St. Louis, Mo.