KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Aug. 16, 2022) – United Soccer Coaches has announced the Forwards on its NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Players to Watch lists for the 2022 intercollegiate season.The lists are comprised of 41 women and 30 men, led by 8 total returning All-Americans. The returning women’s All-Americans include Messiah Bright (TCU), Michelle Cooper (Duke), Nicole Douglas (Arizona State), Penelope Hocking (Penn State), Megan Nemec (Loyola-Chicago), Brittany Raphino (Brown), and Jaida Thomas (Tennessee). New Hampshire’s Tola Showunmi is the lone returning All-American on the men’s side.The lists are being released for the first time this season by the Division I All-America Committees to promote college soccer leading up to the official start date for the regular season later this month. The lists include United Soccer Coaches All-Americans and first or second team All-Region players from 2021, who are scheduled to return for the 2022 season.“United Soccer Coaches is pleased to be able to bring some additional focus to these outstanding student-athletes from our member schools as pre-season training gets underway,” said Ralph Polson, the Senior College All-America Administrator. “While other players will most certainly emerge, these previous honorees represent some of the best at their positions entering this season.”Here is the schedule for all of the position announcements this fall:

August 5 – Goalkeepers

August 9 – Defenders

August 12 – Midfielders

August 16 – Forwards

These positional announcements also lead up to the 2022 watch lists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy on the official start date for regular season games on August 18 (women) and August 25 (men). The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to the Division I National Players of the Year as voted by Division I College Coaches at the end of the regular season. The 2022 recipients will be announced on January 6, 2023, in St. Louis, Mo.

2022 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Players to Watch – Forwards

2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Players to Watch – Forwards 

Name Class School Hometown
Tanya Boychuk GR5 University of Memphis Edmonton, Alb.
Messiah Bright GR5 Texas Christian University Dallas, Texas
Trinity Byars So. University of Texas Richardson, Texas
Angela Caloia Sr. Harvard University Washington, D.C.
Rebecca Cooke Jr. Quinnipiac University Dublin, Ireland
Michelle Cooper So. Duke University Clarkston, Mich.
Izzy D’Aquila Jr. Santa Clara University Mission Viejo
Rylee Donaldson Sr. Bucknell University Allentown, Pa.
Nicole Douglas GR5 Arizona State University London, England
Kayla Fischer GR5 Ohio State University Kent, Ohio
Brooklynn Fugel So. Georgia State University Dacula, Ga.
Mackenzie George GR5 University of Tennessee Lincoln, Calif.
Molly Grant Jr. Lipscomb University Plainfield, Ill.
Maya Hansen Sr. South Dakota State University Savage, Minn.
Emma Hawkins Sr. University of Oklahoma Forney, Texas
Penelope Hocking GR5 Penn State University Anaheim, Calif.
Meg Hughes Jr. Providence College Ajax, Ont.
Kelsie James Jr. Valparaiso University Carmel, Ind.
Jameese Joseph Jr. North Carolina State University Beltsville, Md.
Louise Lillback Jr. Florida Gulf Coast University Stockholm, Sweden
Taylor Moon Sr. Baylor University Highland Village, Texas
Carla Morich Sr. Old Dominion University Hamburg, Ga.
Daniella Murguia GR5 University of Georgia Cleburne, Texas
Megan Nemec Sr. Loyola University Chicago Tinley Park, Ill.
Beata Olsson Jr. Florida State University Enkoping, Sweden
Ioanna Papatheodorou So. University of Massachusetts-Lowell Nea Erithraia, Greece
Anna Podojil GR5 University of Arkansas Cincinnati, Ohio
Brittany Raphino Sr. Brown University Randolph, Mass.
Ally Schlegel Sr. Penn State University Parker, Colo.
Suzuna Shibukawa Sr. Saint Mary’s College of California Hyogo, Japan
Lena Silano Sr. Long Beach State University Agoura Hills, Calif.
Katie Soderstrom Sr. Butler University Carmel, Ind.
Alexa Spaanstra GR5 University of Virginia Brighton, Mich.
Jaida Thomas Jr. University of Tennessee Dallas, Texas
Riley Tiernan So. Rutgers University Voorhees, N.J.
Nicolette Trucco Sr. Cal Poly San Ramon, Calif.
Reilyn Turner Jr. UCLA Alisa Viejo, Calif.
Tori Waldeck Jr. Pepperdine University Newhall, Calif.
Allie Winstanley Sr. Dartmouth College Concord, Mass.
Summer Yates GR5 Washington Pasco, Wash.

2022 NCAA Division I Men’s Players to Watch – Forwards 

Name Class School  Hometown
Nonso Adimabua Jr.  University of California Asaba, Nigeria
Steven Afrifa Jr. Florida International University Toronto, Ont.
Patrick Agyemang Sr.  University of Rhode Island East Hartford, Conn.
Zaki Alibou Jr.  Rider University Meknes, Morocco
Joshua Bolma So.  University of Maryland Accra, Ghana
Aadne Bruseth GR5 Missouri State University Batnfjordsora, Norway
Wilmer Cabrera, Jr. Sr. Butler University Bogota, Colombia
Taylor Calheira Jr. UMBC Towson, Md.
Aboubacar Camara Jr.  University of Louisville Upper Darby, Pa.
Ryan Carmichael Jr.  Hofstra University Armagh, Northern Ireland
Paolo Carroll Sr. Yale University Sao Paulo, Brazil
Shaun-Chris Joash Sr. Grand Canyon University Hampton Hill, England
Gevork Diarbian Jr. Providence College Cranston, R.I.
Lucca Dourado So. University of Central Florida Sao Paulo, Brazil
Emeka Eneli GR5 Cornell University Dublin, Ohio
Billy Hency GR5 Loyola University Chicago Fenton, Mo.
Maxi Hopfer Jr. Duquesne University  Styria, Austria
Emil Jaaskelainen Jr. Long Island University Bolton, England
Levonte Johnson Sr. Syracuse University Brampton, Ont.
John Klein Jr. Saint Louis University Columbia, Mo.
Bojan Kolevski Jr. Cleveland State University Skopje, North Macedonia
Peter Mangione Jr. Penn State University Hunt Valley, Md.
Declan McGlynn Sr. Seattle University Kirkland, Wash.
Alex Meinhard Jr. University of Tulsa Tartu, Estonia
Nelson Pereira So. Stetson University Silveira, Portugal
Tola Showunmi GR5 University of New Hampshire Enfield, England
Tyrese Spicer Jr.  Lipscomb University Trin City, Trinidad & Tobago
Jackson Temple Sr.  Rutgers University Millville, Pa.
Oladayo Thomas GR5 Santa Clara University Lagos, Nigeria
Milo Yosef Sr. Marshall University Aachen, Germany

*GR5 Indicates student-athletes exercising their extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19