KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 13, 2021) — United Soccer Coaches announced the 2021 Player of the Year recipients across the senior college, junior college, high school, and youth levels on Monday. 

Please note: The NCAA Division I men and women Players of the Year, which will be the MAC Hermann Trophy recipients, will be announced on January 7 in St. Louis, Mo.

Among the 18 athletes earning honors, one player is earning Player of the Year for the second time in their career. Amherst senior forward German Giammattei repeats as NCAA Division III Men’s National Player of the Year, having also captured this honor in 2019.

Out of the 14 collegiate student-athletes on the list, 11 helped propel their team to National Championships and three of those athletes earned most valuable player recognition in their respective tournaments.

Iowa Western Community College sophomore midfielder Giorgio Probo earned NJCAA Division I men’s championship most valuable player honors, Eastern Florida State College freshman forward Laura Cetina earned NJCAA Division I women’s championship offensive most valuable player in the tournament, and Pima Community College sophomore forward Francisco Manzo earned the NJCAA Division II men’s tournament’s most valuable player.

At the high school level, both St. Ignatius High School senior midfielder Luciano Pechota and Whitefish Bay High School senior forward Maggie Starker earned 2021 Player of the Year honors while leading their teams to state championships this year. 

At the youth level, Players of the Year Miles Avery and Tyler Isgri have both earned national team call-ups, with Avery being part of various US Soccer youth national team camps and Isgri earning several caps as a member of the US National U-16 team.

Following are the list of the 18 players designated as 2021 Player of the Year recipients. 




NCAA Division II Men

Morten Bjoershol

California State University-Los Angeles

NCAA Division III Men

German Giammattei

Amherst College


Alejo Binaghi

University of Mobile


Tom Edge

Campbellsville University

Junior College Division I Men

Giorgio Probo

Iowa Western Community College

Junior College Division II Men

Francisco Manzo

Pima Community College

Junior College Division III Men

Lorenzo Boselli

Dallas College-Richland

High School Boys

Luciano Pechota

Saint Ignatius High School

Youth/Club Boys

Miles Avery

Bethesda Soccer Club







NCAA Division II Women

Cecilia Steinwascher

Grand Valley State University

NCAA Division III Women

Riley Cook

Christopher Newport University

NAIA Women

Yuki Watari

University of Tennessee Southern


Brianna Uhl

Trinity Christian College

Junior College Division I Women

Laura Cetina

Eastern Florida State College

Junior College Division II Women

Kara Dietrich

Community College of Baltimore County-Essex

Junior College Division III Women

Abigail Gutierrez

Dallas College-Brookhaven

High School Girls

Maggie Starker

Whitefish Bay High School

Youth/Club Girls

Tyler Isgrig

Solar Soccer Club