KANSAS CITY, Mo. (July 11, 2018) – Nine spring high school boys and girls teams received the United Soccer Coaches Platinum Team Ethics Award, for completing the entire 2018 season without receiving a yellow or red card, as announced by the association on Wednesday. In all, 60 spring-season boys and girls teams received either the Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze version of the Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award.

The award recognizes teams that exhibit fair play, sporting behavior and adherence to the laws of the game, as reflected by the number of yellow caution cards or red ejection cards they are shown by referees throughout the season. Awards are based on the number of cards accumulated, divided by the number of games played (i.e., five cards divided by 20 games played is 0.25 or 25%, which qualifies for the Silver Award).

Twenty-three teams were recipients of the Gold Award, which is given to teams with a percentage of cards ranging from 1-10%. A total of 23 teams claimed the Silver Award, which is given to teams that accumulate a percentage of cards ranging from 11-30%, while the Bronze Award went to five teams, who accumulated a percentage of cards ranging from 31-50%.

A complete list of recipients and level explanation follows:

Platinum: No cards accumulated during the season
Gold: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 1-10%
Silver: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 11-30%
Bronze: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 31-50%

Platinum Award

 School (City, State)  Coach   Program 
 Lincoln High School (Des Moines, Iowa)  Scott Voogd   Girls 
 Altavista High School (Altavista, Va.)  John Grzenda   Girls 
 Brookfield Academy (Brookfield, Wis.)   Lee Rodgers   Girls 
 Greenville High School (Greenville, Ill.)  Chris Swift  Girls 
 Nile C. Kinnick High School (Yokosuka, Japan)  Nicholas Hindie  Girls 
 Lincoln Lutheran High School (Lincoln, Neb.)  David Gosselin  Girls 
 Pioneer Valley Christian Academy (Springfield, Mass.)  Christopher Andre  Boys
 Saginaw Arts & Sciences Academy (Saginaw, Mich.)  Mark McLean  Girls 
 Springfield Lutheran High School (Springfield, Ill.)  David Isham  Girls 

Gold Award

 School (City, State)  Coach  Program 
 Baldwin High School (Baldwin City, Kan)  Andrew Ising   Girls 
 Belleville/New Glarus Co-Op High School (New Glarus, Wis.)  John Ziperski  Girls 
 Bishop Miege High School (Roeland Park, Kan.)  Nate Huppe   Girls 
 Cabot High School (Cabot, Ark.)  Kerry Castillo   Girls 
 Carman-Ainsworth High School (Flint, Mich.)  Jessyca Matthews   Girls 
 Catholic Memorial High School (Waukesha, Wis.)  John Burke   Girls 
 Central Academy of Technology & Arts (Monroe, N.C.)  Jay Niessner   Girls 
 Christiansburg High School (Christiansburg, Va.)  Scott Duff   Girls 
 Croatan High School (Newport, N.C.)  Paul Slater   Girls 
 Fond du Lac High School (Fond du Lac, Wis.)  Brandon Petersen   Girls 
 Incarnate Word Academy (St. Louis, Mo.)  Beth Sims   Girls 
 Littleton High School (Littleton, Colo.)  Terry Banfield   Girls 
 Louisburg High School (Louisburg, Kan.)  Kyle Conley   Girls 
 Logan-Rogersville High School (Rogersville, Mo.)  Brett Wubbena   Girls 
 Lone Jack High School (Lone Jack, Mo.)  Bryan Davenport   Girls 
 Notre Dame de Sion High School (Kansas City, Mo.)  Matt Darby   Girls 
 Port Washington High School (Port Washington, Wis.)  Eric Liebergen   Girls 
 Saxony Lutheran High School (Jackson, Mo.)  Mark Ruark   Girls 
 South Pasadena High School (South Pasadena, Calif.)  Tory Lathrop   Girls 
 Swansea High School (Swansea, S.C.)  Chad Meredith   Girls 
 Thales Academy Apex High School (Apex, N.C.)  McGeath Freeman  Girls 
 Tremper High School (Kenosha, Wis.)  Todd Hardy   Girls 
 Villa Walsh Academy (Morristown, N.J.)  Kristin McCormick  Girls 

Silver Award

 School (City, State)  Coach   Program 
 Benet Academy (Lisle, Ill.)  Gerard Oconer   Girls 
 Bishop McGuinness High School (Kernersville, N.C.)  Ray Alley   Girls 
 Brooks Collegiate Academy (San Antonio, Texas)  Bartholomew Valerio   Boys
 Cary High School (Cary, N.C.)  Laura Kerrigan   Girls 
 Cheyenne Central High School (Cheyenne, Wyo.)  Jeff Norman   Girls 
 Dawson School (Lafayette, Colo.)  David Criswell   Girls 
 East Bladen High School (Elizabethtown, N.C.)  Jay Raynor   Girls 
 Evanston High School (Evanston, Wyo.)  Chuck Grenfell   Girls 
 Fountain Valley School of Colorado (Colorado Springs, Colo.)  Kevin Ray   Girls 
 Glenbrook South High School (Glenview, Ill.)  Seong Ha   Girls 
 Greens Farms Academy (Westport, Conn.)  Chris Mira   Boys 
 Hammond School (Columbia, S.C.)  Rafael Marquez   Girls 
 Matthew C. Perry High School (Iwakuni, Japan)   Mark Lange   Boys 
 Menomonee Falls High School (Menomonee Falls, Wis.)  Scott Stein   Girls 
 Millard South High School (Omaha, Neb.)   Jane Elam   Girls  
 Nation Ford High School (Fort Mill, S.C.)  Jon Jarrett   Boys 
 Pattonville High School (Maryland Heights, Mo.)  Jason Sellers   Girls  
 St. Teresa’s Academy (Kansas City, Mo.)  Jeremy McElduff   Girls  
 Starr’s Mill High School (Fayetteville, Ga.)  John Bowen   Girls 
 Warren County High School (Front Royal, Va.)  Thomas Hodge   Boys 
 The Westminster Schools (Atlanta, Ga.)  Scott Snyder   Boys 
 Wilson Memorial High School (Fishersville, Va.)  Kyle Congleton   Girls 
 Wyandotte High School (Kansas City, Kan.)  Josh Wikler   Girls  

Bronze Award

 School (City, State)  Coach   Program 
 Charlotte Country Day School (Charlotte, N.C.)  Greg Ashton   Girls 
 Cheyenne East High School (Cheyenne, Wyo.)  Ryan Cameron   Boys 
 Lambert High School (Suwanee, Ga.)  Chris Wilson   Boys 
 Mauldin High School (Mauldin, S.C.)  Raimond Hartmann   Girls 
 Archbishop Moeller High School (Cincinnati, Ohio)  Mike Welker   Boys