KANSAS CITY, Mo. (May 20, 2021) – United Soccer Coaches announced the association’s 2020-21 Men’s and Women’s Scholar All-America Teams for NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, III, NAIA, and NCCAA.

Please note: On the men’s side, NCAA Division II, III, and NAIA are combined. On the women’s side, NAIA and NCCAA are combined.

2020-21 Scholar All-America Teams
NCAA DI: Men | Women

The Division I Men’s National Scholar Player of the Year is Missouri State senior defender Kyle Hiebert. This is Hiebert’s third Scholar All-America selection. The NAIA Men’s National Scholar Player of the Year is Oklahoma Wesleyan senior defender Julio Belo. 

The Division I Women’s National Scholar Player of the Year is Florida State senior defender Malia Berkely and the NAIA Women’s National Scholar Player of the Year is Keiser senior defender Josefine Troneby.

Please note there is no National Scholar Player of the Year in NCAA Division II or NCAA Division III.

To be eligible for Scholar All-America recognition, student-athletes must meet the following criteria:

  • 3.40 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) or better throughout career
  • Started more than 50 percent of all games (minimum of seven games) during the season of nomination and be an elite player as supported by playing honors (ie. all-conference) and/or contributions to their team. 
  • Nominated by head coach of current College Services member institution
  • Junior or above in academic standing; and, if a transfer student, in second year at school

Student-athletes on this year’s Scholar All-America Teams will be formally acknowledged for their accomplishments on the field and in the classroom at the digital College Awards Ceremony beginning June 30, 2021 on www.unitedsoccercoaches.org.