KANSAS CITY, MO. (Nov. 14, 2018) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Wednesday the recipients of the association’s 2018 Long-Term Service awards for youth, high school and college soccer. The awards are presented annually to members who have exhibited a career of contributions at their level of the sport and a continued commitment of service to the association.

The honorees will be presented their awards at the annual United Soccer Coaches Awards Banquet on Jan. 11 in Chicago during the 2019 United Soccer Coaches Convention.

Ralph Polson | Spartanburg, S.C.
Bill Jeffrey College Long-Term Service Award

A United Soccer Coaches member since 1983, Polson recently concluded his 11th season as the head coach at Wofford College, his 27th season as a college head coach and his 38th year coaching collegiate soccer overall. He has served in numerous leadership roles not only within the association, but also with the NCAA. He announced his retirement from Wofford earlier this week.

He served six years on the United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors, including as President in 2012. He currently serves as a member of the United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors Advisory Council, Chairman of the Senior College Men’s All-America Committee as well as the Chairman of the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Soccer Playing Rules Committee. He received a United Soccer Coaches Letter of Commendation at the 2016 Convention in Baltimore.


Marti Coan | Neenah, Wis.
Robert W. Robinson High School Long-Term Service Award

Supported by the American Youth Soccer Organization (AYSO)

Coan, a United Soccer Coaches member since 1990, has been a key leader in her home state of Wisconsin, serving as a board member with the Wisconsin Soccer Coaches Association, including three terms as president. A past president of the Neenah Soccer Club, she was inducted into the Wisconsin Soccer Hall of Fame in 2017.

Coan has a coaching resume that spans more than three decades. She served as Oshkosh North High School varsity girls head coach, Oshkosh North junior varsity boys coach and Lawrence University head women’s coach and assistant men’s coach. She served on the United Soccer Coaches Board of Directors including two years as a Regional Representative and 10 years as the Girls’ High School Representative. She has served on the United Soccer Coaches Convention Committee and co-chaired the annual High School Coaches’ Breakfast. She received a United Soccer Coaches Letter of Commendation at the 2017 Convention in Los Angeles.


Armand “Bob” Dikranian | Branford, Conn.
Charlotte Moran Youth Long-Term Service Award

Dikranian was the Connecticut Junior Soccer Association (CJSA) Boys’ ODP Director from 1981-84 and a coaching advisor for CJSA from 1985-88. He served over a decade as South Central Premier SC’s Director of Coaching and is on the Region 1 Staff. He holds a USSF A License and the National Youth License. He is the member of five halls of fame, including being a member of the inaugural class of inductees to the Connecticut Soccer Hall of Fame in 1999.

A United Soccer Coaches member since 1967, he founded the Southern Connecticut State men’s soccer program in 1966. He led SCSU for 21 years, amassing 227 wins, making eight NCAA semifinal appearances and claiming the 1987 national championship. He was twice named United Soccer Coaches National Coach of the Year. He was inducted into the United Soccer Coaches Hall of Fame in 2013.