Duo awarded Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy presented by World Wide Technology

ST. LOUIS, Mo. (Jan. 4, 2019) – Indiana University senior defender Andrew Gutman (Hinsdale, Ill.) and Stanford University sophomore forward Catarina Macario (San Diego, Calif.) were presented the 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy on Friday at the Missouri Athletic Club’s annual banquet.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, a 10-pound crystal soccer ball awarded annually since 1967, honors the United Soccer Coaches National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer based on voting conducted by NCAA Division I coaches.

Gutman contributed career-highs with 11 goals and nine assists for 31 points in 2018, leading the Hoosiers in goals and points. The unanimous Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year anchored an IU defense that allowed just 13 goals over 24 games en route to a College Cup semifinal appearance. He capped his four-year career with 20 goals and 17 assists.

Runners-up for the men’s award were University of Denver senior forward Andre Shinyashiki (Sao Paulo, Brazil) and University of Kentucky junior forward JJ Williams (Montgomery, Ala.).

Macario tallied a team-high 14 goals and 36 points in 2018 to help the Cardinal back to the College Cup semifinals. The Pac 12 Forward of the Year led the conference in game-winning goals and finished tied for ninth in the country in total points. She is a two-time First Team All-American and Pac 12 Forward of the Year in her first two collegiate seasons.

Runners-up for the women’s award were Stanford senior midfielder Jordan DiBiasi (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) and Georgetown University senior forward Caitlin Farrell (Wallingford, Conn.).

About the Missouri Athletic Club
Established in 1903, the Missouri Athletic Club is a private social, business, athletic, and dining club with locations in Downtown St. Louis and Town and Country in West St. Louis County. The MAC is a Platinum Club of America, an honor bestowed on the top 3% of private clubs in the United States.