KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Aug. 17, 2023) – United Soccer Coaches announced the 56 NCAA Women’s Division I college soccer players named to the 2023 Hermann Trophy Watch List on Thursday.

Highlighting this year’s watch list are eight Hermann semi-finalists from last year returning to play this fall: Senior defender Eva Gaetino (University of Notre Dame), senior defender Lyndsey Heckel (Saint Louis University), fifth-year senior defender Julia Leas (Georgetown University), junior midfielder Hannah Bebar (Harvard University), fifth-year senior midfielder Croix Bethune (University of Georgia), senior midfielder Lia Godfrey (University of Virginia), junior forward Trinity Byars (University of Texas), and senior forward Brittany Raphino (Brown University). Leas and Bethune are taking advantage of the NCAA decision granting an additional season of competition for student-athletes following the challenges of the Covid-19 pandemic during the 2020-21 academic year.

A total of 17 other players on the list earned previous All-America recognition from United Soccer Coaches, including senior goalkeeper Emily Puricelli (Saint Louis University), senior goalkeeper Cristina Roque (Florida State University), fifth-year senior defender Kayla Duran (University of Southern California), senior defender Eva Gaetino (University of Notre Dame), senior defender Lyndsey Heckel (Saint Louis University), fifth-year senior defender Julia Leas (Georgetown University), junior defender Emily Mason (Rutgers University), junior defender Jade Rose (Harvard University), junior midfielder Hannah Bebar (Harvard University), fifth-year senior midfielder Croix Bethune (University of Georgia), fifth-year senior midfielder Gracie Brian (Texas Christian University), fifth-year senior midfielder Maya Doms (Stanford University), senior midfielder Lia Godfrey (University of Virginia), junior midfielder Taylor Huff (Florida State University), senior midfielder Emma Jaskaniec (University of Wisconsin), senior midfielder Felicia Knox (University of Alabama), senior midfielder Sam Meza (University of North Carolina), fifth-year senior midfielder Abbie Miller (Saint Louis University), senior midfielder Jamie Shepherd (Brigham Young University), senior forward Jody Brown (Florida State University), junior forward Trinity Byars (University of Texas), senior forward Rebecca Cooke (Penn State University), senior forward Brecken Mozingo (Brigham Young University), fifth-year senior forward Anna Podojil (University of Arkansas), and senior forward Brittany Raphino (Brown University).

The Hermann Trophy, presented annually by the Missouri Athletic Club, is the nation’s highest individual honor recognizing the National Player of the Year as determined by the voting of Division I coaches who are members of United Soccer Coaches.

The 2023 Men’s Hermann Trophy Watch List will be announced on Thursday, Aug. 24th. Fifteen men’s players and 15 women’s players become Hermann Trophy semifinalists following completion of Division I All-America voting at the end of the fall season. On December 6th, the three women’s finalists will be announced and on December 13th, the men’s three finalists will be released.

The 2023 winners are revealed on Jan. 5th, 2024, in a ceremony at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, MO.

United Soccer Coaches
2023 Women’s Hermann Trophy Watch List






K Alexandra Blom Sr. James Madison University Degerfors, Sweden
K Leah Freeman Sr.  Duke University Berkeley, Calif.
K Emily Puricelli Sr. Saint Louis University St. Louis, Mo.
K Cristina Roque Sr.  Florida State University Winter Garden, Fla.
D Shay Adams GR5 University of Portland Seattle, Wash.
D Maya Antoine Sr. Vanderbilt University Vaughan, Ont.
D Megan Bornkamp Jr. Clemson University Mooresville, N.C.
D EmJ Cox So. University of Texas Dallas, Texas
D Kayla Duran GR5  University of Southern California Woburn, Mass.
D Elise Evans So. Stanford University Redwood City, Calif.
D Eva Gaetino Sr.  University of Notre Dame Dexter, Mich.
D Kylie Gazza GR5 Samford University Cumming, Ga.
D Lyndsey Heckel Sr. Saint Louis University St. Louis, Mo.
D Bridie Herman Gr5 Liberty University Springboro, Ohio
D Julia Leas Gr5 Georgetown University Vienna, Va.
D Emily Mason Jr.  Rutgers University Flemington, N.J.
D Logan McFadden Sr. Lipscomb University Birmingham, Ala.
D Lilly Reale Jr. UCLA Hingham, MA
D Jade Rose Jr. Harvard University Markham, Ont.
D Lava Vaka GR5 Brigham Young University Sandy, Utah
D Kennedy Wesley GR5 Stanford University Rossmoor, Calif.
M Jasmine Aikey So. Stanford University Palo Alto, Calif.
M Hannah Bebar Jr. Harvard University Naperville, Ill.
M Croix Bethune GR5 University of Georgia Alpharetta, Ga.
M Meg Boade Sr.  Northwestern University Lone Tree, Colo.
M Gracie Brian GR5 Texas Christian University Frisco, Texas
M Shelby Craft Sr. Lipscomb University Frisco, Texas
M Maya Doms GR5  Stanford University Davis, Calif.
M Lia Godfrey Sr. University of Virginia Fleming Island, Fla.
M Josefine Hasbo Jr. Harvard University Runstad Kyst, Denmark
M Taylor Huff Jr.  Florida State University Mansfield, Ohio
M Emma Jaskaniec Sr. University of Wisconsin Menomonee Falls, Wis.
M Mya Jones Sr. University of Memphis Calgary, Alb.
M Felicia Knox Sr. University of Alabama Kansas City, Mo.
M Sam Meza Sr. University of North Carolina Dallas, Texas
M Abbie Miller GR5 Saint Louis University St. Charles, Mo.
M Lexi Missimo Jr. University of Texas Southlake, Texas
M Jamie Shepherd Sr. Brigham Young University American Fork, Utah
M Heather Stainbrook Sr. Utah Valley University South Jordan, Utah
M Leah Wengender Sr. University at Buffalo Rochester, N.Y.
F Catherine Barry Sr. University of South Carolina Hingham, Mass.
F Kelli Beiler GR5 Lipscomb University Mount Pleasant Mills, Pa.
F Jody Brown Sr. Florida State University St. Ann, Jamaica
F Trinity Byars Jr.  University of Texas Richardson, Texas
F Rebecca Cooke Sr.  Penn State University Dublin, Ireland
F Itala Gemelli Jr. University of Alabama Rochester, Mich.
F Jasmine Greene GR5 University of South Alabama Birmingham, Ala.
F Maya Hansen GR5 South Dakota State University Savage, Minn.
F Simone Jackson Jr.  University of Southern California Redondo Beach, Calif.
F Caroline Kelly Sr Saint Louis University Kearney, Mo.
F Delaney Lappin Sr. Drexel University Corbin City, N.J.
F Brecken Mozingo Sr. Brigham Young University Sandy, Utah
F Anna Podojil GR5 University of Arkansas Cincinnati, Ohio
F Brittany Raphino Sr. Brown University Randolph, Mass.
F Reilyn Turner Sr. UCLA Aliso Viejo, Calif.
F Kennedy White GR5 Mississippi State University Canton, Mich.

*GR5 Indicates student-athletes exercising their extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19


About the Missouri Athletic Club

Located in St. Louis, Mo., the Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to mac-stl.org.