KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 28, 2023) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Thursday the Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award recipients for high school programs competing in the fall season.

Fourteen fall high school boys and girls teams received the United Soccer Coaches Platinum Team Ethics Award for completing the entire 2023 fall season without receiving either a yellow or red card.

In all, 72 fall season boys and girls teams received either the Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze version of the High School Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes teams that exhibit fair play, sporting behavior and adherence to the laws of the game, as reflected by the number of yellow caution cards or red ejection cards they are shown by referees throughout the season based on the number of cards accumulated divided by the number of games played (i.e., 5 cards divided by 20 games played is 0.25 or 25%, which qualifies for a Silver Award).

Sixteen teams were recipients of the Gold Award, which is awarded to teams with a percentage of cards ranging from 1-10%.

A total of 31 teams claimed the Silver Award, which is given to teams that accumulate a percentage of cards ranging from 11-30%, while the Bronze Award went to 11 teams, which is presented to teams that accumulate a percentage of cards ranging from 31-50%.

A complete list of recipients and level explanation follows:

  • Platinum: No cards accumulated during the season
  • Gold: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 1-10%
  • Silver: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 11-30%
  • Bronze: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 31-50%

2023 United Soccer Coaches High School Fall
Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award Winners


School                                                                                      Coach                                                                               Program

Atlantis Charter School Joseph Keiser Girls
Bayport Blue Point High School Robert Schimpf Boys
Bentworth High School Tyler Hamstra Girls
Bishop Canevin High School Andy Folmer Girls
Christian Life School Alan Krass Boys
Dover-Sherborn High School Evren Gunduz Girls
Fitchburg High School Chris Kitchin Girls
Fort Kent Community High School Douglas Cyr Girls
Heath High School Matthew Offers Girls
La Plata High School Kevin Barry Girls
Lawrenceburg High School Bill Offutt Girls
Madison Consolidated High School Janet Hertz Girls
Mashpee Middle High School Patricia Morano Girls
Morse High School David Beauregard Girls


School                                                                                      Coach                                                                               Program

Attleboro High School Peter Pereira Boys
Blackhawk Christian High School Tim Kintz Girls
Cleveland High School Miles Christian Girls
Holy Spirit High School Sean Matteo Boys
Hudson High School Spencer Fortwengler Girls
Leavitt Area High School Chris Cifelli Girls
Lyman Memorial High School Mark Morello Girls
Mansfield High School Kevin Smith Girls
Muhlenberg High School Daniel Houck Girls
Needham High School James Odierna Boys
New Haven High School Dean Trainer Girls
North Yarmouth Academy Ricky Doyon Girls
Red Hook Central High School Jason Pavlich Girls
Walkersville High School Paul Bryan Girls
Winchester High School Rick Emanuel Girls
Yarmouth High School Andrew Higgins Girls


School                                                                                      Coach                                                                               Program

Avon Grove High School Christian Dunn Girls
Bishop Chatard High School Ashton Balch Girls
Bishop Watterson High School Scott Dempsey Girls
Cape Elizabeth High School Branden Noltkamper Girls
Circleville High School Joseph Stitt Girls
Columbus North High School David Young Girls
Conestoga High School Deane Mariotti Girls
Crystal Lake South High School Brian Allen Boys
East Bladen High School Jay Raynor Boys
Frankfort High School Isaac Field Girls
Gwynedd Mercy Academy High School Bill Dailey Girls
Hamilton Southeastern High School Greg Davidson Girls
Harrisburg High School Eric Christensen Girls
Highland High School Bill Zufall Girls
Lakeside Lutheran High School Eric Dorn Boys
Lower Merion High School Nicholas Severini Boys
Lynbrook Senior High School Joshua Berlin Boys
Madison High School Marc Dovico Girls
Maryvale Preparatory School Colin Devlin Girls
Medford High School Rocco Cieri Girls
Olentangy Liberty High School Chris Allen Girls
Park Ridge High School Dylan Evans Girls
Pickerington North High School Jeff Sever Girls
S.S. Seward Institute William Steele Boys
Saint John’s High School Kurt Swanbeck Boys
Southern Boone High School Wade Vandelicht Boys
Swampscott High School Adam Bailey Boys
Twinsburg High School Michael Lally Boys
Upper Sandusky High School Keith Miller Boys
Valhalla High School Sandro Prosperino Boys
Windham High School Michael Hachey Boys


School                                                                                      Coach                                                                               Program

Belleville-New Glarus Robert Gentilli Boys
Celina High School Ryan Jenkins Boys
East Boston High School Jayson Smith Boys
Festus High School Austin Burgert Boys
Garrett High School Doug Klopfenstein Boys
Hopkins School Joseph Addison Boys
Methacton High School Bret Smith Girls
Moses Brown School Eric Aaronian Boys
Springfield High School Adam Sloan Boys
Wabash High School Bill Benysh Boys
Warrensburg High School Matthew Bax Boys