KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 15, 2023) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Friday the association’s 2023 National Staff and Coach of the Year recipients for senior and junior college, high school, and youth/club soccer, as voted on by the coaches in their respective divisions and levels.Twelve of the 14 college staff award winners (six men’s and six women’s staffs) claimed the national or CCCAA championship in their respective division in 2023.These staffs will be honored at the United Soccer Coaches Awards Banquet on Jan. 12, 2024, at the Anaheim Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif. in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention. Each Regional Staff of the Year appeared on the ballot for National Staff of the Year, along with the addition of staffs from all schools which reached the semifinals of their respective championship.

2023 National Coaches of the Year



Large Public School Boys

Ron Eden, Brentwood High School (N.Y.)

Small Public School Boys

Darren Allen, Mount Abram Regional High School (Maine)

Private/Parochial Boys

Marty Berman, Seton Hall Prep (N.J.)





Large Public School Girls

Jamie Schneider, Spencerport High School (N.Y.)

Small Public School Girls

Eric Degnan, Monson High School (Mass.)

Private/Parochial Girls

Curtis Blair, Baylor School (Tenn.)




Richard Dunnigan, Jesuit High School (Fla.)




Bobby Puppione, The St. James FC (Va.)

2023 National Coaching Staffs of the Year

NCAA I Men University of Notre Dame
  Head Coach: Chad Riley
  Assistants: Jeffrey Rowland, Michael Graczyk and Christopher Rolfe
NCAA II Men Franklin Pierce University
  Head Coach: Travis Brent
  Assistants: Diego Thielen, Jon Paul Navarro and Riley Brooks
NCAA III Men St. Olaf College
  Head Coach: Justin Oliver
  Assistant: Matthew Gibbons, Ben Braman, Tyler Keith and Brian Sullivan
NAIA Men MidAmerica Nazarene University
  Head Coach: Kevin Wardlaw
  Assistants: Atanas Karagyaurov and Alistair Hughes
Junior College I Men Monroe College
  Head Coach: Marcus DiBernardo
  Assistants: Jonathan Avila, Filip Kula, Massimo Garguilo and Jay Myers
Junior College II Men Iowa Lakes Community College
  Head Coach: Ben MacRae
  Assistants: Nick Semnani and Nick Erdmann
Junior College III Men El Camino College
  Head Coach: Michael Jacobson
  Assistants: Steven Barrera, Miguel Sanchez and Richard Fernandez
NCAA I Women Florida State University
  Head Coach: Brian Pensky
  Assistants: Bobby Shuttleworth, Aaron Brunner, Andrew Hudson and Sarah Buckley
NCAA II Women Point Loma Nazarene University
  Head Coach: Kristi Kiely
  Assistants: Tanner Wolfe, Mark Yeeles and Duarte Andrade
NCAA III Women California Lutheran University
  Head Coach: Frank Marino
  Assistants: Shannon Pennington, Brenton Frame, Chloe Montano and Tony Castro
NAIA Women William Carey University
  Head Coach: Danny Owens
  Assistants: Ryan Weir, Larissa Caldas and Shawn Hunter
Junior College I Women Iowa Western Community College
  Head Coach: Adam Sanchez
  Assistants: Jamison Parkhill
Junior College II Women Jones College
  Head Coach: Dolores Deasley
  Assistants: Tori Brook, Shawn Hunter and Elizabeth Theriot
Junior College III Women Folsom Lake College
  Head Coach: Donald Ribaudo
  Assistants: Pat Powers, Robert Gray, James Pierce and Teo Delgado