KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 13, 2023) – United Soccer Coaches in partnership with the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced on Wednesday the men’s finalists for the 2023 MAC Hermann Trophy, as the NCAA Division I National Player of the Year. The finalists were determined on voting by the Division I men’s coaches.

The three finalists are Western Michigan University senior forward Charlie Sharp (Brighton, Mich.), Clemson University senior forward Ousmane Sylla (Dakar, Senegal) and Wake Forest University senior defender Garrison Tubbs (Brunswick, Ga.).

Sharp scored 19 goals, had eight assists and had seven game winning goals in leading the Broncos to a 17-2-3 record and third round appearance in the NCAA tournament where they lost to national runner-up Notre Dame on penalty kicks. Sylla had 13 goals, 10 assists and five game winning goals as the Tigers captured their second national NCAA National Championship in three years. Tubbs was the Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year and the only defender named to the ACC first team as he captained the Deamon Deacons to a 11-3-5 and the Atlantic Division conference title.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. The 2022 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Jan. 5, 2024, to formally announce this year’s winners.

2023 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists

About the Missouri Athletic ClubLocated in St. Louis, the Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to www.mac-stl.org.