KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 16, 2022) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Friday the association’s 2022 National Staff and Coach of the Year recipients for senior and junior college, high school, and youth/club soccer, as voted on by the coaches in their respective divisions and levels.

Fourteen of the 16 college staff award winners (seven men’s and seven women’s staffs) claimed the national or CCCAA championship in their respective division in 2022.

These staffs will be honored at the United Soccer Coaches Awards Banquet on Jan. 13, 2023, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention.

Each Regional Staff of the Year appeared on the ballot for National Staff of the Year, along with the addition of staffs from all schools which reached the semifinals of their respective championship.

2022 National Coaches of the Year


Large Public School Boys Jonathan Gross, Harrison High School
Small Public School Boys Rey Ramirez-Alvarez, Maize South High School
Private/Parochial Boys Greg Lekavich, Gaston Day School
Large Public School Girls John Edward Diehl, Jr., Ward Melville High School
Small Public School Girls Wally Senk, Copley High School
Private/Parochial Girls Sharon Loughran, The Westminster Schools
HIGH SCHOOL ASSISTANT Jim Sharpe, Canterbury School
YOUTH/CLUB John Barata, Legacy Soccer Club (Mass.)


2022 National Coaching Staffs of the Year

NCAA I Men Syracuse University
Head Coach: Ian McIntyre
Assistants: Jukka Masalin, Sean Lawlor and Michael Flynn
NCAA II Men Franklin Pierce University
Head Coach: Ruben Resendes
Assistants: Brendan Pacheco, Andres Martins and Dominik Machado
NCAA III Men University of Chicago
Head Coach: Julianne Sitch
Assistant: Michael Mauro and Kevin Schmid
NAIA Men Bethel University
Head Coach: Thiago Pinto
Assistants: Mamba Chisoni, Eduardo Ferreira and Romulo Nobrega
NCCAA Men Bob Jones University
Head Coach: Greg Fulton
Assistants: Ryan McCarty, Micah Kline and Paul Christensen
Junior College I Men Monroe College
Head Coach: Marcus DiBernardo
Assistants: Jonathan Avila, Filip Kula and Massimo Garguilo
Junior College II Men Phoenix College
Head Coach: David Cameron
Assistants: Sebastian Aguas and Carmen Esnal
Junior College III Men Oxnard College
Head Coach: Ross Greaney
Head Coach: Margueritte Aozasa
Assistants: Goffin Boyoko, Molly Poletto and Chelsea Tudela
NCAA II Women Western Washington University
Head Coach: Travis Connell
Assistants: Claire Morgan and Jamie Arthurs
NCAA III Women Johns Hopkins University
Head Coach: Dan Weiler
Assistants: Greg Ridout, Jen Nance and Liz Koehling
NAIA Women Spring Arbor University
Head Coach: Jason Crist
Assistants: Sam Ulstad, Kevin Bristol and Kara Toteff
NCCAA Women Providence University College
Head Coach: Tory Walker
Assistants: Dustin Martin
Junior College I Women Iowa Western Community College
Head Coach: Adam Sanchez
Assistants: Jamison Parkhill and Edward Meitzen
Junior College II Women Holmes Community College
Head Coach: Wesley Noble
Assistants: Gentry Johnson and Taylor Leddy
Junior College III Women Saddleback College
Head Coach: BJ McNicol
Assistants: Sean Melendez, Cole Fipps and Steven Fagundes