KANSAS CITY, Mo. (Dec. 29, 2022) – United Soccer Coaches announced on Thursday the 2022 College Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award recipients.

One intercollegiate team received the United Soccer Coaches Platinum Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award for completing the entire 2022 season without receiving either a yellow or red card.

In all, 117 men’s and women’s teams received either the Platinum, Gold, Silver or Bronze version of the College Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes teams that exhibit fair play, sporting behavior and adherence to the laws of the game, as reflected by the number of yellow caution cards or red ejection cards they are shown by referees throughout the season based on the number of cards accumulated divided by the number of games played (i.e., 5 cards divided by 20 games played is 0.25 or 25%, which qualifies for a Silver Award).

Eleven teams were recipients of the Gold Award, which is given to teams with a percentage of cards ranging from 1-10%.

A total of 50 teams claimed the Silver Award, which is given to teams that accumulate a percentage of cards ranging from 11-30%, while the Bronze Award went to 55 teams, which is presented to teams that accumulate a percentage of cards ranging from 31-50%.

A complete list of recipients and level explanation follows:

  • Platinum: No cards accumulated during the season
  • Gold: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 1-10%
  • Silver: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 11-30%
  • Bronze: Percentage of cards accumulated during the season ranging from 31-50%

2022 United Soccer Coaches College
Team Ethics and Sportsmanship Award Recipients

School Coach Program
Thomas College Deb Biche-Labbe Women
School Coach Program
Bard College Kate Hofstede Women
Calvin University Emily Ottenhoff Women
Castleton University Chris Chapdelaine Women
Centre College Jay Hoffman Women
Grove City College Melissa Lamie Women
Hardin-Simmons University Lance Key Women
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Deb Raber Women
University of New England Carly Gettler Women
North Country Community College Kent Egglefield Women
Northern State University Bob Casper Women
Oxford College of Emory University Ruth Geiger Women
School Coach Program
Alfred University Craig Yanni Women
Amherst College Jen Hughes Women
Anderson University Jennifer Myhre Women
Ashland University Cayleb Paulino Women
Bowdoin College Brianne Smithson Women
Bridgewater College Michael Van Horn Women
Buena Vista University Benton Frayne Women
Carlow University Allen Duda Women
Cedarville University Jonathan Meade Women
Christopher Newport University James Gunderson Women
Clark University Brienne Smith Women
Colby College Tracey Leone Women
California State University Maritime Academy Emily Scheese Women
Diablo Valley College Cailin Mullins Women
University of Dubuque Jason Berna Women
Eastern Nazarene College James Lipocky Women
Frostburg State University Brian Parker Women
Juniata College Joseph Alianiello Women
Keystone College Lilly Cross Women
Le Moyne College Jaro Zawislan Women
Lebanon Valley College Frank Carrozza Women
Loras College Matt Pucci Women
McDaniel College Sandy Lagana Bly Women
Messiah University Brad McCarty Men
Monmouth College Lucas Henderson Women
University of North Carolina-Pembroke Lars Andersson Women
University of North Georgia Kayley Ralton Women
Penn State University-Behrend Patrick O’Driscoll Women
Plymouth State University Ryan Joy Women
University of Puget Sound Stephanie Cox Women
Randolph College Kevin Porterfield Women
Saint Joseph’s College of Maine Jenelle Harris Women
Salve Regina University Tanya Roberts Women
Simmons University Ann Marie Jaworski Women
Springfield College Kristin Cannon Women
St. Mary’s College of Maryland Peter Krech Women
Suffolk University Ellie McDougall Women
SUNY Geneseo Nathan Wiley Women
SUNY Old Westbury Betty Bohringer Women
SUNY Oswego Brian McGrane Women
University of Texas-Dallas Kanute Drugan Women
Trine University Gary Boughton Women
United States Military Academy Tracy Chao Women
Vassar College Keith Simons Women
Villanova University Samar Azem Women
Wabash Valley College Patrick Harris Women
Washington & Jefferson College Kendra Jones Women
Wheaton College (Ill.) Patrick Gilliam Women
University of Wisconsin-Platteville Sam Koenig Women
School Coach Program
Auburn Unviersity Karen Hoppa Women
Belhaven University Kimberly Harrell Women
Belmont Abbey College Mike Lynch Women
Bentley University Lauren Lukis Women
Blinn College Alexandria Jackson Women
Boston University Casey Brown Women
Catholic University Casey Sommers Women
Central College Michael Kobylinski Women
Central Connecticut State University Michael D’Arcy Women
College of Saint Benedict Steven Kimble Women
Culver-Stockton College Tyler Tomlinson Women
Dallas Baptist University Marcus Wood Women
Davidson College Adam Denton Women
East Texas Baptist University Kristin Cox Women
Edgewood College Derek Helmer Women
Emerson College David Suvak Women
University of Findlay Michelle Rick Women
Heidelberg University Madalynn McLaughlin Women
Iowa Western Community College Adam Sanchez Women
Kean University Brian Doherty Women
Lake Forest College T.R. Bell Women
Lewis University Chris Koenig Women
Liberty University Lang Wedemeyer Women
Lock Haven University Peter Campbell Women
Los Angeles Harbor College Art Caballero Women
University of Louisiana-Lafayette Chris McBride Women
Lubbock Christian University Alex Denning Women
Luther College Hollie Gray Women
Macalester College Madeline Buckley Women
Marywood University Andrew Smith Women
McMurry University Charles Nobles Women
Minnesota State University-Mankato Brian Bahl Women
Minnesota State University-Moorhead Christie Kopietz Women
University of Missouri Stefanie Golan Women
Northwest Missouri State University Marc Gordon Women
Parkland College Dan Vogelsang Women
Penn State University-Abington Daniel Mannella Women
Regis College Alex Macpherson Women
Russell Sage College Garrett Cobb Women
Salem College Robin Ramirez Women
Snow College Charles Long Women
St. Norbert College Bob Rickards Women
Stanford University Paul Ratcliffe Women
University of Tampa Adrian Bush Men
Tennessee Tech University Steven Springthorpe Women
Tyler Junior College Corey Rose Women
United States Coast Guard Academy Susan Grant Women
Wartburg College Emily Ryan Women
Webster University Luigi Scire Women
University of West Alabama Graeme Orr Women
Whitman College Michelle Voiland Women
Winthrop University Spencer Smith Women
University of Wisconsin -Eau Claire Sean Yengo Women
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Dawn Crow Women