KANSAS CITY, Mo. (May 12, 2021) – United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) announced on Thursday the men’s and women’s finalists for the 2020-21 MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, based on voting by NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer coaches.

The three men’s finalists are Oregon State junior forward Gloire Amanda (Edmonton, Alberta), Indiana sophomore forward Victor Bezerra (Chicago, Ill.) and Pittsburgh sophomore forward Valentin Noel (Niort, France).

Gloire led the nation in both goals and total points for the Beavers and was named a First Team All-Pac-12 honoree. Bezerra was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and the Outstanding Offensive Player of the Conference Tournament, while tallying 11 goals in 11 games played. Noel ended the regular season with 11 goals, finishing first in the Atlantic Coast Conference and earning a spot on the All-ACC First Team.

The three women’s finalists are Florida State junior midfielder Jaelin Howell (Lone Tree, Colo.), North Carolina junior midfielder Brianna Pinto (Durham, N.C.) and Florida State senior defender Malia Berkely (Liberty Township, Ohio).

Howell started all 11 games for the Seminoles in the fall and was named to the All-ACC First Team, the ACC All-Tournament Team, and named ACC Midfielder of the Year. Pinto was named First Team All-ACC Selection for the third straight year, while starting all 12 games of the fall season. Berkely was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first player in ACC history to earn Player of the Year honors back to back. In addition, Berkely was named to the All-ACC First Team and the ACC All-Tournament Team.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. This year’s winners will be announced on May 27, 2021 at the MAC Hermann Trophy Banquet at the historic Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

2020-21 Men’s MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists

Gloire Amanda

Oregon State

Victor Bezerra


Valentin Noel


2020-21 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Finalists

Jaelin Howell

Florida State

Brianna Pinto

North Carolina

Malia Berkely

Florida State

About the Missouri Athletic Club
Located in St. Louis, Mo., the Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer’s player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to mac-stl.org.