Home » Awards » Nomination Information » High School Coach of Significance Award

High School Coach of Significance Award

The High School Coach of Significance Award is intended to recognize members who are coaching for character, using the soccer field to teach life lessons at the high school level. It is an opportunity for each state, in conjunction with United Soccer Coaches, to recognize excellence and the chance to share stories of how coaches are making an impact within their schools and communities well beyond their records of wins and losses.


  • Nominations will be accepted February 1- April 1 (11:59 p.m. CST). Extended to May 1st, 2020!
  • The online nomination form and at least one letter of reference is submitted for each nominee.
  • Nominations will be submitted to the selection committee that has national, regional, and state representation.
  • One recipient will be selected per state.
  • Recipients will be announced in the fall.


Review the Criteria

The nominee meets the following:

  • Is a high school head coach.
  • Demonstrated character through education and leadership within his/her team, school or community.
  • Expresses concern and support for others.
  • Serves as an inspiration through accomplishments and leadership.
  • Will need to be a United Soccer Coaches member if selected and chooses to accept the award. However the nominee does not need to be a current United Soccer Coaches member to be nominated.

Letter of Support

Prepare a one page letter of support for the nomination that includes details about the nominee relative to the award criteria. You will be required to upload the letter of support to the form or enter it manually as text before the form can be submitted. Up to three letters will be accepted.


If possible, please submit one or more photos of the coach that you are nominating. Photos will be used to highlight Coach of Significance winners. 

Recipients of the 2019 High School Coach of Significance Award are listed alphabetically by state:

  • Alaska – Kaula Rowe (Bartlett HS/Anchorage, Alaska)
  • Alabama – Shawn Brower (Briarwood Christian/Birmingham, Ala.)
  • Arkansas – Kerry Castillo (Cabot HS/Cabot, Ark.)
  • Arizona – Gabriel Rocha (Catalina HS/Tucson, Ariz.)
  • California – Steve Chappell (Northgate HS/Walnut Creek, Calif.)
  • Colorado – Evan Segal (Glenwood Springs HS/Glenwood Springs, Colo.)
  • Connecticut – Dan Woog (Staples HS/Westport Conn.)
  • Delaware – Joseph Manlove (Alexis I. DuPont HS/Wilmington, Del.)
  • Florida – Jacob Sweeney (McKeel Academy/Lakeland, Fla.)
  • Georgia – Adel Mohsen (Brookwood HS/Snellville, Ga.)
  • Hawaii – Maurice Miranda (Honoka’a HS/Honokaa, Hawaii)
  • Iowa – Robbie Miller (Abraham Lincoln HS/Council Bluffs, Iowa)
  • Indiana – Steve Williams (Mt. Vernon/Fortville, Ind.)
  • Kansas – Frank Alonso (Manhattan HS/Manhattan, Kan.)
  • Kentucky – Chris Grimm (Lafayette HS/Lexington. Ky.)
  • Louisiana – Kiran Booluck (Episcopal/Baton Rouge, La.)
  • Maryland – Robert Behegan (North County HS/Glen Burnie, Md.)
  • Massachusetts – Mike Elster (Sutton HS/Sutton, Mass.)
  • Michigan – Ken Delaney (Coldwater HS/Coldwater, Mich.)
  • Missouri – Chris Miller (Southern Boone HS/Ashland, Mo.)
  • Minnesota – Paul Menge (The Blake School/Minneapolis, Minn.)
  • Mississippi – John Dicks (Petal HS/Petal, Miss.)
  • North Carolina – Doug Kidd (Swansboro HS/Swansboro, N.C.)
  • North Dakota – Kascaundra Poitra (Turtle Mountain Community School/Belcourt, N.D.)
  • Nebraska – April Kelcher (Papillion- La Vista HS/Papillion, Neb.)
  • New Hampshire – James Tufts (Exeter HS/Exeter, N.H.)
  • New Jersey – Dr. Steven Racine (Kinnelon HS/Kinnelon, N.J.)
  • New Mexico – Alvin Valdez (Santa Fe HS/Santa Fe, N.M.)
  • New York – Oscar Vergara (Bishop Ludden HS/Syracuse, N.Y.)
  • Ohio – Scott MacMillan (Niles McKinley HS/Niles, Ohio)
  • Oklahoma – Kit Stephenson (Southmoore HS/Moore Okla.)
  • Oregon – Maria VanAcker (Canby Union HS/Canby, Ore.)
  • Pennsylvania – Scott Hancock (Gettysburg Area HS/Gettysburg, Pa.)
  • South Carolina – Raimond Hartmann (Mauldin HS/Mauldin, S.C.)
  • Tennessee – Ken McDonald (Franklin Road Academy/Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Texas – Amber Clevenger (The John Cooper School/The Woodlands, Texas)
  • Utah – Lee Mitchell (Alta HS/Sandy, Utah)
  • Virginia – Jay Wood (Saint Christopher’s School/Richmond, Va.)
  • Vermont – Lucas Bates (Leland & Grey/Townshend, Vt.)
  • Wisconsin – Matt Callahan (Oshkosh West HS/Oshkosh, Wis.)
  • Wyoming – Jeff Norman (Cheyenne Central HS/Cheyenne, Wyo.)

The third annual class has grown with 10 additional recipients, representing a total of 41 states. As the award continues to grow, the goal is to annually recognize a recipient from all 50 states.

Each of the High School Coach of Significance Award nominees are reviewed by the selection committee comprised of national, regional, and state representation.