Home » Awards

Hall of Fame


The United Soccer Coaches Hall of Fame was established in 1991 to honor achievement in coaching, with emphasis on success in the game while also considering work on behalf of the association and/or lifetime contributions to the game of soccer. Each year up to three members (past or present) may be selected to the United Soccer Coaches Hall of Fame. Selections are made through balloting of the Hall of Fame Committee. The presentations are made annually at the Awards Banquet at the United Soccer Coaches Convention.

Class of 2021
Joe Palone, United States Military Academy
Horst Richardson, Colorado College
Sigi Schmid, UCLA/LA Galaxy/Columbus Crew/Seattle Sounders

Class of 2020
George Herrick, Vestal High School (N.Y.) – Watch Hall of Fame Video
Schellas Hyndman, Eastern Illinois /SMU/FC Dallas/Grand Canyon – Watch Hall of Fame Video
Dr. Jay Martin, Ohio Wesleyan University – Watch Hall of Fame Video

Class of 2019
Dr. Colleen Hacker, Pacific Lutheran University – Watch Hall of Fame Video
Albie Loeffler, Ellsworth High School (Conn.)/Staples High School (Conn.) – Watch Hall of Fame Video
Aliceann Wilber, William Smith College – Watch Hall of Fame Video

Class of 2018
Bruce Arena, University of Virginia/MLS/US Soccer
Anson Dorrance, University of North Carolina – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2017
Bill Holleman, The Lovett School (GA) – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2016
Tony DiCicco, NSCAA Goalkeeping Academy, Wethersfield, CT – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2015
Peter Gooding, Amherst College
Jack Mackenzie, Quincy University – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2014
Jim Lennox, Hartwick College – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2013
Ronald Broadbent, Spencerport High School (NY) – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video
Armand “Bob” Dikranian, Southern Connecticut State University – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2012
M.W. “Chick” Jacobus, Kingswood School (CT)
John Rennie, Duke University – Watch Hall of Fame Profile Video

Class of 2011
Joe Borrosh, Pittsford-Mendon High School (NY) – Watch Hall of Fame Induction
Terry Jackson, Wesleyan College (CT)

Class of 2010
Bob DiGrazia, University of California
Bob Gansler, United States Men’s National Team

Class of 2009
Gene Chyzowych, Columbia High School (NJ)
Cliff McCrath, Seattle Pacific University

Class of 2008
Paul “Sandy” Sanderson, Suffield, CT
Jerry Yeagley, Indiana University

Class of 2007
Joe Bean, Wheaton College (IL)

Class of 2006
Miller Bugliari, The Pingry School (NJ)

Class of 2005
Dr. William “Pete” Leaness, Temple University

Class of 2004
John McKeon, Bridgeport, East Stroudsburg State College
Tim Schum, Binghamton University

Class of 2003
Steve Negoesco, University of San Francisco

Class of 2002
Joseph J. Morrone, Middlebury, University of Connecticut

Class of 2001
Gus Donoghue, University of San Francisco
Robert W. Robinson, Lower Merion High School (PA)

Class of 2000
Julie Menendez, San Jose State University

Class of 1999
Joe Guennel, Indiana University

Class of 1998
Dr. Marvin A. Allen, University of North Carolina
Howard DeNike, East Stroudsburg State College

Class of 1997
Ray Buss, Fleetwood Area High School (PA)
Walter Chyzowych, Philadelphia Textile University, Wake Forest University

Class of 1996
Harry Keough, Saint Louis University

Class of 1995
Walter Bahr, Penn State University
Alden “Whitey” Burnham, Dartmouth College
Mickey Cochrane, Johns Hopkins, Bowling Green State University
Bill Shellenberger, Lynchburg College

Class of 1994
John Eiler, Slippery Rock State College, East Stroudsburg State College
John Squires, University of Connecticut

Class of 1993
Edward “Ebbie” Dunn, Saint Louis University High School (MO)
Robert Guelker, Saint Louis University, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
Donald I. Minnegan, Towson State College
Huntley Parker, SUNY Brockport
Irvin R. Schmid, Springfield College
Charles R. Scott, University of Pennsylvania
Isadore “Doe” Yavits, Ithaca College

Class of 1992
Thomas J. Dent, Dartmouth College
Robert H. Dunn, Swarthmore College
Otto Haas, Chatham High School (NJ)
T. Fred Holloway, SUNY Cortland
Richard W. Schmelzer, Rochester Polytechnical Institute
Glenn Warner, United States Naval Academy
Donald Yonker, Drexel University

Class of 1991
Lawrence E. Briggs, University of Massachusetts
John D. Brock, Springfield College
James T. “Ted” Chambers, Howard University
William Jeffrey, Penn State University
James “Jimmy” Mills, Haverford College
George D. Ritchie, Wethersfield High School (CT)
Earle C. Waters, West Chester University