NSCAA joins North American soccer community in support
of federations' quest to co-host the 2026 FIFA World Cup

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (April 10, 2017) – The National Soccer Coaches Association of America joins the North American soccer community in applauding today’s historic announcement by the Canada Soccer Association, Mexican Football Federation and United States Soccer Federation in support of a joint bid for the right to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

"The vision outlined by these federations to bring the sport's most prestigious event to our region is exciting for all of our coaches, who have helped build the game and the soccer culture in each of these countries," said NSCAA CEO Lynn Berling-Manuel. "These coaches share their love of the game in local communities across North America and now this World Cup bid will showcase the collective impact for FIFA, and others around the world, to appreciate."

The NSCAA, an official affiliate member of the U.S. Soccer Federation, was founded in 1941 and has grown into the world’s largest organization for soccer coaches, serving more than 30,000 members at every level of the game in the United States, Canada, Mexico and beyond. In addition to attendees from all 50 states and 39 countries, the 2017 NSCAA Convention featured presenters with past and present ties to the American, Canadian and Mexican national teams including Brad Friedel, Bruce Arena, Dick Bate, Jorge Campos, Jozy Altidore and Paolo Pacione.

CONCACAF nations have hosted the FIFA World Cup and FIFA Women’s World Cup on six previous occasions, most recently with the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup held in Canada. A successful bid would see the United States co-host the World Cup in 2026 in conjunction with commemorative celebrations for the nation's 250th anniversary.

     Past World Cups in North America
     1970 FIFA World Cup in Mexico
     1986 FIFA World Cup in Mexico
     1994 FIFA World Cup in United States
     1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup in United States
     2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup in United States
     2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada

In January, the FIFA Council unanimously voted to expand the FIFA World Cup to a 48-team competition beginning in 2026. FIFA has also previously approved the submission of joint bids for the 2026 FIFA World Cup and outlined a four-phase process for the selection of the tournament host(s): strategy and consultation phase (May 2016 – May 2017), enhanced phases for bid preparation (June 2017 – Dec. 2018), bid evaluation (Jan. 2019 – Feb. 2020) and a bid decision (May 2020).

The FIFA Council will next meet on May 9 ahead of the 67th FIFA Congress on May 11 in Bahrain.