Home » 

Juneteenth 2021

On June 19, 1865, word reached enslaved African Americans in Texas that they were free. Beginning the next year, celebrations on that date spread across the South. Today Juneteenth is recognized nationally. It is both a celebration of freedom, and a reminder that we must still fight to address systems and institutions that challenge the Black community.

Today – 156 years later – the United Soccer Coaches Black Coaches Advocacy Group honors Juneteenth by looking back at our own history and growth, as the group celebrates its 25th year of existence. This year, to celebrate Juneteenth, the Black Coaches Advocacy will host a series of webinars and panels celebrating Black Excellence in Soccer. You can view the full schedule for June 19th, 2021 below. 

All of the events scheduled for June 19 are free to join. Use the link below to fill out the simple form. Once filled out you’ll receive a link in the email you’ve provided to all the sessions and the social. 

Juneteenth Schedule

Time  Title, Speaker(s), &  Description

Session 1

11:45 AM – 12:00 PM EST

10:45 AM – 11:00 AM CST

8:45 AM – 9:00 AM PST

 

Intro and Welcome 

Nicole Hercules, Chair, Black Coaches Advocacy Group

An inclusionary warm welcome to all, we will briefly discuss the history of Juneteenth and celebrate our 25th year as the BSC of United Soccer Coaches. We will use this time to get everyone excited to spend the day with us, learning and growing together to culminate an action plan for being a part of positive changes.

 

Session 2

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM EST

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM CST

9:00 AM – 10:00 AM PST

Professional Development: Managing Your Coaching Career As A Business 

Mike Curry, Sports Administration and DEI Consultant, United Soccer Coaches Foundation Committee

Rob Smith, Director of Business Development, Academy Sports Complex

This session will revisit some “core competencies” and best practices that are the framework for successful coaches both on and off the field.

 

Session 3

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM CST

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST

HBCU Panel – Creating opportunities for players and coaches 

Kevin Larry, Head Women’s Soccer Coach, Alcorn State University

Phillip Gyau, Head Men’s Soccer Coach, Howard University

Averick Parker, Director of Sports Partnerships, Opportune Sports

Jason Gross, Head Women’s Soccer Coach, Trinity Washington University

Keith Tucker, Founder & President, The Scholar Athlete Art Academy

Lincoln Phillips, Former Goalkeeper, Trinidad & Tobago National Team; Former NCAA Championship Coach, Howard University

A real conversation about the HBCU soccer pathway. An inside inspirational talk celebrating the successes of all-black teams. Black legends of the game pass the torch to our new generation of coaches and leaders, creating more opportunities through HBCUs.

Session 4

2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM CST

11:00 AM – 12:00 PM PST

Black Women in Soccer 

Nicole Hercules, Chair, Black Coaches Advocacy Group

Karla Thompson, Coaching Educator, US Soccer

Nikki Washington, Women’s Assistant Soccer Coach, University of Washington 

Shalom Kimble, Head Coach & Goalkeeper Trainer, Girls Unite

Marsha Harper, Head Women’s Soccer Coach, American University

Kimberly Crabbe, Former Player, USWNT; Director of Youth Outreach, Wilmington Hammerheads

Havana McElvaine, Former Player, University of Washington; Anti-Racist Educator

Being, a strong black woman, is often the price of entry.  A conversation discussing the experience coming from the intersections of race and gender. The often-ignored misogyny and ways to overcome it.

 

Session 5

3:00 PM – 4:00 PM EST

2:00 PM – 3:00 PM CST

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PST

Minding Your Health Through Exercise and Nutrition 

Mabricio Wilson, Owner, Futbolr Clothing

Staci Wilson, Director of Player Development, Hobe Sound SC

Chioma Atanmo, Wellness Coach,  Mindful Appetite, Community Programs Manager, Sporting Kansas City

 

Session 6

4:00 – 5:00 PM EST

3:00 PM – 4:00 PM CST

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM PST

Social – “Celebrating 25 Years of Black Coaches” 

Nicole Hercules, Chair, Black Coaches Advocacy Group

Video of our coaches’ successes for inspiration and action followed by a Black Coaches Social with a toast and some fellowship. A call to action not just for today but for the future. A clear vision for the next generation of black coaches. We will include the next steps for all to move forward with action items in unity.

 

Juneteenth Speakers

Nicole Hercules

Nicole Hercules

Session 1, 4, & 6

Chair, Black Coaches Advocacy Group

Mike Curry

Mike Curry

Session 2

Sports Administration and DEI Consultant, United Soccer Coaches Foundation Committee

Rob Smith

Rob Smith

Session 2

Chair, Black Coaches Advocacy Group

Lincoln Phillips

Lincoln Phillips

Session 3

Former Goalkeeper, Trinidad & Tobago National Team; Former NCAA Championship Coach, Howard University

Kevin Larry

Kevin Larry

Session 3

Head Women’s Soccer Coach, Alcorn State University

Phillip Gyau

Phillip Gyau

Session 3

Head Men’s Soccer Coach, Howard University 

Averick Parker

Averick Parker

Session 3

Director of Sports Partnerships, Opportune Sports

Jason Gross

Jason Gross

Session 3

Head Women’s Soccer Coach, Trinity Washington University

Keith Tucker

Keith Tucker

Session 3

Founder & President, The Scholar Athlete Art Academy

Karla Thompson

Karla Thompson

Session 4

Coaching Educator, US Soccer

Nikki Washington

Nikki Washington

Session 4

Women’s Assistant Soccer Coach, University of Washington

Shalom Kimble

Shalom Kimble

Session 4

Head Coach & Goalkeeper Trainer, Girls Unite

Marsha Harper

Marsha Harper

Session 4

Head Women’s Soccer Coach, American University

Kimberly Crabbe

Kimberly Crabbe

Session 4

Former Player, USWNT, Director of Youth Outreach, Wilmington Hammerheads

Havana McElvaine

Havana McElvaine

Session 4

Former Player, University of Washington; Anti-Racist Educator

Mabricio Wilson

Mabricio Wilson

Session 5

Owner, Futbolr Clothing

Staci Wilson

Staci Wilson

Session 5

Director of Player Development, Hobe Sound SC

Chioma Atamno

Chioma Atamno

Session 5

Wellness Coach,  Mindful Appetite, Community Programs Manager, Sporting Kansas City