Honorary All-American


Each year the United Soccer Coaches Honorary All-America Award is presented to a person or persons who have brought particular distinction and/or attention to the sport of soccer through their efforts within and beyond the boundaries of the sport. Among past recipients the categories of persons recognized have included astronauts, entertainers, politicians, military personnel, administrators and other individuals connected to the game.

Past Honorary All-Americans

2021 – Roger Espinoza, Sporting Kansas City and Lo’Eau Labonta, Kansas City Current
2020 – Ed Foster-Simeon, President & CEO, U.S. Soccer Foundation
2019 – Amanda Duffy, President, NWSL
2018 – Hank Steinbrecher, Former Secretary General, U.S. Soccer

2017 – U.S. Paralympic Soccer Team
2016 – Tim Howard, U.S. Men’s National Team
2015 – Jill Ellis, U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach
2014 – Sir Alex Ferguson, Former Manager, Manchester United
2013 – Bob Bradley, Former U.S. Men’s National Team Head Coach
2012 – Julie Foudy, U.S. Women’s National Team
2011 – Sunil Gulati, President, US Soccer
2010 – Joe Gaetjens, 1950 U.S. Men’s National Team member – Watch 2011 Convention Presentation Video
2009 – JP Dellacamera, ESPN
2008 – Dr. Sandra Magnus, U.S. astronaut
2007 – Kristine Lilly, five-time U.S. Women’s World Cup player
2006 – John and Maureen Hendricks; founders of the Discovery Channel
2005 – Jon Stewart; comedian/TV talk show host
2004 – U.S. Military Using Soccer for Outreach (accepted by Capt. Alexander Fyfe and Lt. Joshua Walters)
2003 – Walter Bahr, Frank Borghi, Harry Keough, Gino Pariani and John Sousa, Members of the 1950 U.S. World Cup, Team; Zachary Ty Bryan, TV/Movie actor
2001 – Heroes and Victims of Sept. 11, 2001; accepted by Joe Brosi and Wyman Iriarity, Fire Dept. of New York soccer team
2000 – Michelle Akers, U.S. Women’s National Team
1999 – Tony DiCicco, U.S. Women’s National Team Coach
1998 – Bob Ley, ESPN
1996 – Lamar Hunt, Investor/Operator, Major League Soccer
1994 – Carolyn McKenzie-Edwards, Soccer in the Streets
1993 – Andrew Shue, TV/Movie actor
1992 – Anson Dorrance, U.S. Women’s National Team Coach
1991 – Sonny Carter, U.S. astronaut
1990 – Pelé
1989 – Werner Fricker, President, US Soccer
1985 – Eunice Kennedy Shriver, Special Olympics
1983 – Clay Berling, Publisher, Soccer America
1982 – Dennis P. Long, Anheuser-Busch Co.
1974 – William Symington, U.S. Representative, Mo.
1973 – William Westmoreland, General, United States Army
1972 – Col. William Anders, Apollo 8 Lunar Mission Astronaut