Home » Awards » College Awards » Jerry Yeagley Award

Jerry Yeagley Award


The Jerry Yeagley Award for Exceptional Personal Achievement is presented annually to a former men’s or women’s college soccer player who has demonstrated exceptional personal achievement, extraordinary accomplishment transcending normal expectation and service that is an example and inspiration to his/her teammates, university and others. 

The recipient should exhibit the qualities of sportsmanship, integrity, respect and concern for others, leadership, generosity and appreciation and should exhibit a strong work ethic and have the ability to rise above adversity. This can be an individual who has overcome personal challenges or the perseverance to overcome professional challenges.

Any former college player is eligible for the award but the nomination must come from a member of an active member of the College Services Program of United Soccer Coaches.

Jerry Yeagley Award for Exceptional Personal Achievement Award Nomination Form

Past Recipients

2018 – William Smith, Monrovia Football Academy/LEAD Africa (William & Mary)
2017 – Nicole Aunapu Mann, NASA Astronaut (Navy)
2016 – Angela Hucles, USWNT/Empowerment Through Sport (Virginia)
2015 – Mark Spiegel, Make Your Own Ball Day (Butler)
2014 – Ben Gucciardi, Soccer Without Borders, (Lehigh)
2013 – Lorrie Fair, USWNT/US State Department Sports Envoy (North Carolina)
2012 – Heather Walls, Johns Hopkins Medical (Centre)
2011 – Mary McVeigh, Soccer Without Border Nicaragua (Dartmouth)
2010 – Diego Gutierrez, MLS Player/President’s Council on Physical Fitness (Rockhurst)
2009 – Lauren Gregg, USWNT Staff (Virginia)
2008 – Curtis Pride, Together With Pride Foundation (Gallaudet)
2007 – Hugo Salcedo, US Soccer, FIFA and Major League Soccer (UC Riverside)
2006 – Derek Arneaud, US Paralympics/Soccer Vision Global (East Stroudsburg)
2005 – Don Rawson, Indiana Soccer Association & Foundation (Indiana)