Home » 80 Year Anniversary of the Association

80 Year Anniversary of the Association

We’re Celebrating 80 Years with Membership for $80!

In honor of the Association’s 80th year, we’re offering a 12-month membership for $80 during the month of October! If you become a member of United Soccer Coaches from October 1st through October 31st, you receive all of the benefits of membership for a whole year for just $80!

These member benefits include access to all eLearning courses for free, $1 million in general liability insurance, Soccer Journal print magazine, opportunities to nominate players and coaches for awards, member pricing on all education products including Convention, insider involvement in member groups, and more!

*This discount cannot be combined with any other coupons, discounts, offers, or promotions. Offer must be applied at the time of purchase and cannot be applied to previous purchases. Offer valid for expired and non-members. Other terms may apply.

Apply the discount code 80ANNIVERSARY at checkout to take advantage of this offer.

A Brief History of the Association




  • An informal get-together of a handful of collegiate coaches who lingered after a meeting of the Eastern Intercollegiate Coaches Association begins the start of the United Soccer Coaches, then-NSCAA.
  • Dr. Fred Holloway of SUNY-Cortland outlines a proposal for All-American Program Selection Process (at the time just for college) in the NSCAA Newsletter. Its acceptance was immediate.


  • The NSCAA ‘Newsletter’ is renamed to the ‘Soccer Journal’.
  • The first Convention held outside of New York takes place in St. Louis. Its success sets the path for Conventions to be held across the country.
  • Dr. John McKeon announced as the first Executive Secretary of the association.
  • The first outdoor clinic sessions in NSCAA Convention history are held in Orlando, Fla.
  • The NSCAA moves into its first office space in Fairway, Kansas, establishing its headquarters in the Midwest. In the same year, Jim Sheldon, the association’s first full-time employee, was hired as Executive Director of the association.
  • Dr. Laurie Whitsel is named the first female President of the association.
  • The NSCAA moves its National Office to Kansas City, Kansas.
  • Joe Cummings is named Chief Executive Officer of the association.
  • Janet Rayfield becomes the first female recipient of the Honor Award.
  • The NSCAA moves its National Office once more to its current location in historic Union Station in Kansas City, Missouri.
  • Lynn Berling-Manuel is named the first female CEO of the association.
  • NSCAA is rebranded to United Soccer Coaches.
  • Dr. Colleen Hacker and Aliceann Wilber named to the United Soccer Coaches Hall of Fame, the first women to be inducted.
  • Mike Curry becomes the first Black recipient of the Honor Award.
  • United Soccer Coaches hosts its very first Digital United Soccer Coaches Convention.